City of Victoria Butler Book Prize

2016 Victoria Book Prize Winners!

Congratulations to Pauline Holdstock and Dawn Green, the winners of the 2016 Victoria Book Prize Awards.

Pauline Holdstock was named the winner of the 13th annual City of Victoria Butler Prize for The Hunter and the Wild Girl (Goose Lane Editions).

Dawn Green was named the winner of the 9th annual Bolen Books Children’s Book Prize for In the Swish (Red Deer Press).

Councillor Chris Coleman and event sponsor Brian Butler presented Pauline Holdstock with the $5,000 City of Victoria Butler Book Prize, and Samantha Holmes from Bolen Books presented Dawn Green with the $5,000 Bolen Books Children’s Book Prize.

About Pauline Holdstock
Pauline Holdstock has written six novels, including Into the Heart of the Country, long-listed for the 2012 Giller Prize, and Beyond Measure, winner of the Ethel Wilson Award for Fiction and shortlisted for both the 2004 Giller Prize and the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize.

The Hunter and the Wild Girl spins a haunting tale of a feral girl who roams the dense forests of nineteenth-century France, stealing food from remote farmyards and avoiding human contact. Seen on one of her thieving missions in the village of Freyzus, she is chased by suspicious townspeople to the edge of a deep gorge, where she jumps and disappears, vanishing into village legend. It is a dark fairy tale affirming the persistence of life, the power of human connection, and the fundamental urge to be free.

About Dawn Green
Dawn Green graduated from the University of Victoria with degrees in languages and education. She is a high school Spanish and English teacher, basketball coach, and volunteers with Special Olympics BC. When Kacey Left is her first young adult novel.

In the Swish is a coming of age story about friendships made and friendships tested set against the fast-paced world of competitive girls’ basketball. Bennett Ryan is a superb young player who propelled her team to a regional championship. But in her senior year, she discovers there’s a lot she doesn’t know. She has to switch schools, for one thing, and learn to fit in with the team she helped defeat the previous year. What’s more she confronts a far more complex world than she’s been used to — a new friend who is on the autism spectrum, as well as team-mates from a diversity of cultures. Finally, she has to face her old team — and some old assumptions — in a dramatic playoff game.

City of Victoria Butler Book Prize Finalists
The $5,000 City of Victoria Butler Book Prize is awarded to a Greater Victoria author for the best book published in the preceding year in the categories of fiction, non-fiction or poetry. The five finalists were:

Frances Backhouse – Once They Were Hats: In Search of the Mighty Beaver, non-fiction (ECW Press)
Tricia Dower – Becoming Lin, fiction (Caitlin Press)
Pauline Holdstock – The Hunter and the Wild Girl, fiction (Goose Lane)
Arleen Paré – He Leaves His Face in the Funeral Car, poetry (Caitlin Press)
Laura Trunkey – Double Dutch, fiction (House of Anansi)

Bolen Books Children's Book Prize Finalists
The ninth annual $5,000 Bolen Books Children’s Book Prize is awarded to an author or illustrator for the best children’s book published in the preceding year. The three finalists were:

Dawn Green – In the Swish, ages 13+ (Red Deer Press)
Jenny Manzer – Save Me Kurt Cobain, ages 12+ (Delacorte Press)
Robin Stevenson – The Summer We Saved the Bees, ages 9+ (Orca Book Publishers)

Two independent juries comprised of representatives from the literary arts community adjudicated the entries for literary merit.

The Victoria Book Prize Society is a non-profit organization that establishes the policy and criteria for the two prizes, appoints the juries, and administers the competitions. Two independent juries comprised of representatives from the literary arts community are appointed by the Society to review and assess the submissions. For more information, click here.

Awards Gala / Tickets

The Victoria Book Prize winners were announced at an Awards Gala on Wednesday, October 12, 2016 at the Union Club of British Columbia at 805 Gordon Street.

Tickets were $20 and were available at Bolen Books, Munro’s Books, Ivy’s Bookshop, Tanner's Books and the Victoria Book Prize Society by calling 250.595.8430.

Submission Guidelines

The submission deadline was May 25, 2016.Thank you to everyone who responded to the call for entries. Literature in the appropriate genres for the 2016 Victoria Book Prizes must have been published between April 1, 2015 and March 31, 2016.

 Submissions were to include the following:

  • A submission form - completed and signed.
  • FIVE copies of the book. (One copy will be part of a display at Victoria City Hall.)
  • Entry fee. $25 per entry, payable by cheque to: Victoria Book Prize Society

NOTE: Finalists were required to provide SEVEN additional copies for promotional purposes.

Submissions were to be sent to: 
The Victoria Book Prize Society
c/o Target Storage Ltd.,
4 - 747 Princess Avenue
Victoria, BC V8T 1K5

2016 Sponsors

Founded in 2004, the City of Victoria Butler Book Prize is a partnership between the City of Victoria and Brian Butler of Butler Brothers Supplies. The Bolen Books Children’s Book Prize was founded in 2008. Additional sponsors include the Union Club of British Columbia, Greater Victoria Public Library, Island Blue Print, Magnolia Hotel and Spa, Friesens Corporation and CBC Radio.

Previous Winners

Previous City of Victoria Butler Book Prize winners include:
Julie Paul, The Pull of the Moon, 2015
M.A.C.(Marion) Farrant, The World Afloat, 2014
Stephen Reid, A Crowbar in the Buddhist Garden, 2013
Madeline Sonik, Afflictions & Departures in 2012
Jack Hodgins, The Master of Happy Endings in 2011
Frances Backhouse, Children of the Klondike in 2010
Patrick Lane, Red Dog, Red Dog in 2009
Arleen Paré, Paper Trail in 2008
Bill Gaston, Gargoyles in 2007
Mark Zuehlke, Holding Juno in 2006
Terrence Young, After Goodlake's in 2005
Kevin Patterson, Country of Cold in 2004

Previous Bolen Books Children's Book Prize winners include: 
Chris Tougas, Dojo Daycare, 2015
Daniel Loxton with Jim W.W. Smith, Pterosaur Trouble, 2014
Polly Horvath, One Year in Coal Harbour in 2013
Caitlyn Vernon, Nowhere Else on Earth: Standing Tall for the Great Bear Rainforest in 2012
Kristi Bridgeman, Illustrator, Uirapurú (pronounced oor-a-pur-ú) in 2011
Sylvia Olsen, Counting on Hope in 2010
Penny Draper, Graveyard of the Sea in 2009
Chris Tougas, Mechanimals in 2008

Contact Us

Kate Pollock
Victoria Book Prize Society