Active Transportation Advisory Committee

The Active Transportation Advisory Committee provides ongoing input on the implementation of active transportation initiatives in the community.


The purpose of the Active Transportation Advisory Committee is to provide advice and recommendations to Victoria City Council and staff on:

  • Strategies for promoting the mode shift to active transportation
  • Proposed transportation expenditures as part the Financial Planning process, including roads, cycling and pedestrian infrastructure, traffic calming initiatives, and bus shelters
  • Transportation issues and priorities identified through the Local Area / Neighbourhood Planning Process
  • Crosswalk prioritization and implementation
  • Implementation of the Bike Master Plan
  • Implementation of the Pedestrian Master Plan
  • Transit issues, priorities and projects within City of Victoria jurisdiction
  • Neighbourhood “place-making” initiatives with active-transportation impacts
  • Additional active transportation issues as identified by Council, staff and committee members

More information on the committee is included in the Terms of Reference for the Committee [PDF - 34 KB].


The Committee consists of up to 12 members of the public appointed by Council. Members are assigned to two year terms. The composition of the committee will be as follows:

  • Three (3) members with expertise on cycling mobility;
  • Three (3) members with expertise on pedestrian mobility, including one member with specific expertise on seniors’ mobility;
  • Three members with expertise or lived experience on physical accessibility issues;
  • One member with expertise on transit issues;
  • Up to two additional members.

Two Council members will be appointed to serve as non-voting liaisons to the committee.


Council has appointed the following 12 candidates to the Active Transportation Advisory Committee each for a two-year term from February 1, 2019 to January 31, 2021:

  1. Barbara Amberstone
  2. Sierra Brown
  3. Alan Cassels
  4. Eric Doherty
  5. Linda Ginenthal
  6. Susanna Grimes
  7. Thomas Guerrero
  8. Britta Gundersen-Bryden
  9. Finn Kreischer
  10. Derry McDonnell
  11. Eric Nicholls
  12. Claire Sauvage-Mar

Next Meeting:

Active Transportation Advisory Committee
Virtual Meeting
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 from 4:00 pm to 5:30 p.m.

Approved Minutes:

January 2020


March 2019
April 2019
May 2019
June 2019
September 2019
October 2019
November 2019 [PDF - 172 KB]



2018 Archives

2017 Archives