Art in Public Places Committee

The Art in Public Places Committee provides opportunities for community participation in public art.


Thank you to everyone who applied for the partial-term position on the Art in Public Places Committeee. The deadline to apply was October 3, 2019. The successful candidate will be contacted.

For more information, call 250.361.0571 or email


The Art in Public Places Committee’s purpose is to:

  • Provide advice and act as a resource to City Council and staff on the City’s Art in Public Places Policy
  • Propose and support activities, initiatives and events that benefit and advance art in the City
  • Raise awareness and understanding of the importance of public art in the City
  • Advise on strategies, policies and programs to achieve excellence in art in the public realm

The Committee holds a minimum of three regular meetings per year.  Further information is included in the Terms of Reference [PDF - 76 KB] for the Committee.


The Committee consists of five members appointed by Council.  Members must have experience and/or be trained in aspects of visual art. A minimum of two committee members must be visual artists. Other members should represent a variety of professions with expertise in public art.  Membership on the Committee is limited to two terms of 18 months each.


Members of the Art in Public Places Committee for term July 1, 2017 - December 31, 2018:

  1. Scott Amos
  2. Rande Cook
  3. Doug Jarvis
  4. Wendy Welch
  5.          Evan Locke