Greater Victoria Public Library Board

The Greater Victoria Public Library Board serves 10 municipalities in the Greater Victoria Area.

This board is currently recruiting members for a two-year term starting January 1, 2019. Fill out the application form. [PDF - 691 KB]


The Greater Victoria Public Library Board (GVPL Board) provides joint management, maintenance, improvement, operation and control of library branches. The Library has 12 locations in the Greater Victoria Area including a Central Library in the heart of downtown Victoria and the sxʷeŋxʷəŋ təŋəxʷ James Bay Branch.


Citizen appointees must have resided in the City of Victoria for at least six months preceding the appointment.


The GVPL Board consists of nineteen members, including one Council member and four citizen appointees from the City of Victoria.  
Citizen appointees serve two-year terms to a maximum of four consecutive terms (or eight consecutive years).

Council appointed members of the Greater Victoria Public Library Board for a two year term from January 1, 2018 - December 31, 2019 are:

  1. Tzu-I Chung
  2. Deborah Begoray
  3. Kathy Santini

Additional information about the GVPL Board may be obtained from their website at: