2020 Victoria Book Prize Finalists Announced

The finalists have been announced for the 2020 City of Victoria Butler Book Prize and Children’s Book Prize.

In its 17th year, the $5,000 City of Victoria Butler Book Prize is awarded to a Greater Victoria author for the best book published in the preceding year in the categories of fiction, non-fiction or poetry. The five finalists are:

  • Lorna Crozier (poetry)
    The House the Spirit Builds (Douglas & McIntyre)

  • Carla Funk (non-fiction)
    Every Little Scrap and Wonder: A Small-Town Childhood (Greystone)

  • Christin Geall (non-fiction)
    Cultivated: The Elements of Floral Style (Princeton Architectural Press)

  • Carey Newman & Kirstie Hudson (non-fiction)
    Picking Up the Pieces: Residential School Memories and the Making of the Witness Blanket (Orca Book Publishers)

  • Steven Price (fiction)
    Lampedusa (McClelland & Stewart)

In its 13th year, the $5,000 City of Victoria Children’s Book Prize is awarded to a Greater Victoria author or illustrator for the best children’s book published in the preceding year. The three finalists are:

  • Sara Cassidy
    Nevers (Orca Book Publishers)

  • Mark Leiren-Young
    Orcas Everywhere: The Mystery and History of Killer Whales (Orca Book Publishers)

  • Sylvia Olsen & Odelia Smith
    Neekah’s Knitting Needles (Sono Nis Press)

Two independent juries comprised of representatives from the local literary arts community adjudicated the entries. The winners will be announced at a free online event, hosted by CBC’s Gregor Craigie on Sunday, October 4 at 7 p.m. as part of the Victoria Festival of Authors.


Tickets for the online event are free but must be reserved in advance via the Victoria Book Prizes website victoriabookprizes.ca.


Founded in 2004, the City of Victoria Butler Book Prize is a partnership between the City of Victoria and Brian Butler of Butler Brothers Supplies. The Children’s Book Prize recognizes and celebrates exceptional children’s and youth literature in our community. The prize was established in 2008 by the late Mel Bolen of Bolen Books.


Additional sponsors include the Union Club of British Columbia, Friesens Corporation, Munro’s Books, Russell Books, Tanner’s Books, Ivy’s Bookshop, CBC Radio, Island Blue Print Co., and the Greater Victoria Public Library.

For More Information

The Victoria Book Prize Society establishes policy and criteria for the prizes, administers the competition and appoints the juries. For more information: victoriabookprizes.ca or here.